Skip to content

Poached cod roe

January 27, 2013

Image

This is just about one of my favorite things in the world to eat. Cod roe, freshly poached. You can only buy fresh cod roe in January, February and March which means it is a real delicacy and something that marks a certain time of year. Cod roe for me means that I have endured some harsh winter months and that I only have a few more to go. It also means that it will get lighter and lighter outside from now on, and that spring will come before too long. In Denmark, when we buy cod roe, we call it ‘a pair of cod roe pants’. And here is why:

Image

It looks like a pair of (extremely disgusting) pants! They come in all sizes, from a few hundred grams to a kilo (and maybe more). My pants were medium sized. Around 350 grams, I think.

Bring a pot of water to a boil. Add a tablespoon of salt, a few pepper corns and a dash of vinegar. When the water has come to a boil, dump in the pants and turn down the burner. From now on you don’t want the water to boil, but you don’t want it to get too cold, either. I kept my burner at 2 (out of 9). Keep an eye on it and let the roe sit in the water for about 20 minutes. I like my roe lightly cooked. Cook yours longer if you want it cooked all the way through. Serve it warm on buttered rye bread*. Sprinkle on salt and pepper and serve a lemon wedge on the side. I love it with remoulade that I make by mixing home made mayonnaise with blended pickles.

*Rye bread in Denmark has no caraway and is often up to 80% seeds.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

