Skip to content

Strawberry compote and summer vacation

June 30, 2011

I am very sorry for the silence on the blog lately! And I am even more sorry to say that it won’t be looking up any time soon. I am off to Indonesia later today for two months of adventure which I don’t think will leave much time for blogging (or cooking for that matter). I wish you all a wonderful summer of strawberries, sunshine and fun, and despite being crazily busy today, I will leave you with a recipe for wonderful Danish strawberry dessert.

A couple of weekends ago I spent some days with my Dad. I had a cold and was feeling pretty bad, and among other things he pampered me with this homemade strawberry compote.

For 6 servings you need

1 kg/2 lbs fresh strawberries

200 g/7 oz sugar

1 tablespoon water

An empty vanilla pod

1 tablespoon potato starch (which I think can be substituted by corn starch)

Whole milk or cream to serve

Start by cleaning the berries, cutting off the green tops. Dump them in a pot, adding the sugar, vanilla pod and water. Bring it to a boil and if it looks to dry, add a bit more water to prevent it from burning. Let it simmer until the sugar has dissolved, and the berries have the texture you like. I like the berries to still have a little bite so I would let it simmer for about 10 minutes, but if you want a smooth compote, just let it simmer longer. When this is done, take the pot off the heat. Quickly mix the potato flour with a bit of cold water until there are no lumps. Then pour it into the warm compote while stirring. It varies how much starch you need for the right texture, so just stop pouring when you think it looks and feels right. It is important that the compote does not boil after the starch has been added since it messes up the texture.

 Pour the compote into a big glass bowl and sprinkle a thin layer of sugar over the surface. Let it rest until it is completely cool, and serve with cold whole milk or cream (and more sugar on top if you like things to be really sweet).

Enjoy! And if you end up with leftovers, they can be used very nicely in a trifle.

Leave a Reply

