Skip to content

Beautiful breakfast biscuits

February 27, 2011

Have you ever had biscuits for breakfast? I hadn’t before I met Andy and got acquainted with American traditions. Marnie, Andy’s mom, makes deliciously flaky biscuits in the morning, which makes the house smells amazing. I had never tried making them myself, until this morning when I, despite my light hangover, decided to treat us to warm-and-straight-out-of-the-oven-biscuits. They were delicious and extremely easy to make! I think it took about half an hour from the time I got out of bed till we sat down at the table for breakfast. Another amazing aspect is that I usually have all the ingredients in the house so I don’t even need to plan for them in advance. The recipe is inspired by the recipe for Rolled Biscuits from The Joy of Cooking.

For a big breakfast for two you need:

2 cups/5 dl flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon sugar

5 tablespoons/75 g cold butter

3/4 cups/2 dl milk

How:

First turn the oven to 200C/400F. In a bowl mix together the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar. Add the cold butter and cut it into the flour mix using a pastry blender or two knives (or a food processer). Cut until the lumps of butter are no bigger than small peas. Then add all the milk in one go, and mix it lightly with a spoon until the dough comes away from the sides. Transfer to a floured surface and knead it lightly, just until it holds together nicely. Then roll the dough until it is about 2/3 inch thick. I rolled mine a little thinner than that, and I found my biscuits to be too flat.

Yep, too flat (but still very delicious)! Using a round cookie cutter or a glass, cut your biscuits and transfer them to a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Brush them with cream, milk or beaten egg and bake the biscuits for about 15 minutes, until they are lightly brown. Serve them with cold butter, marmelade or anything else that suits your fancy. I had mine with some homemade orange marmelade and they were wonderful! Note that these biscuits should be eaten on the day you bake them, preferably straight out of the oven.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2011 1:45 pm

    Åh, elsker biscuits🙂 Min Papa i USA laver de bedste med buttermilk…..

    Mange hilsner
    Birthe

    • February 27, 2011 2:51 pm

      Kære Birthe. Uhhh ja, buttermilk biscuits er også super lækre. Det lyder rigtig spændende med arrangementet hos Aarstiderne! Jeg ville rigtig gerne komme, men jeg må lige afvente og se hvordan min økonomi har det til den tid. Jeg er jo studerende, og bare togturen koster 108 kroner hver vej fra København. Hav en dejlig søndag Birthe. Kh Kristina

  2. February 27, 2011 1:45 pm

    PS: kommer du op til mit arrangement hos Aarstiderne??😉

  3. Katrine Rasmussen permalink
    February 27, 2011 4:54 pm

    Nej hvor ser de lækre ud. Dem vil jeg udforske!

    • February 27, 2011 7:27 pm

      Ja, det skulle du gøre søde Katrine! De minder ret meget om scones og er super hyggelige om morgenen. Kærlig Hilsen Kristina

  4. Katrine Rasmussen permalink
    April 11, 2011 6:11 am

    … og de kan også spises om eftermiddagen🙂 Jeg bagte dem igår, og Jacob og jeg sad og nød dem på terrasen – SKØNT. Mine hævede dog helt op og blev sconesagtige – bare mere luftige, men det gjorde absolut intet for smagen.

  5. Maria permalink
    March 28, 2012 2:33 pm

    De ser lækre ud, vil gerne forsøge mig med denne opskrift. Men hvor mon i danmark man skaffer buttermilk ?

    • June 5, 2012 1:52 pm

      Kære Maria. Undskyld det sene svar som skyldes mange måneder uden internet. Buttermilk er helt enkelt kærnemælk, så det skulle du nok kunne finde.
      Kristina

Trackbacks

  1. Beautiful breakfast biscuits | Madbevægelsen -- danske madblogs
  2. Pro Blogger News

Leave a Reply

