Skip to content

Buttermilk pancakes

February 6, 2011

I am back in Denmark now! I had an absolutely wonderful trip where I met amazing people and got to see a little bit of the diverse country of South Africa. I will have to go back though since I feel like I just saw the tip of the iceberg. While I was away Andy had several exams, and he spent his January studying 12 hours a day, not leaving any time for cooking. He had actually lost weight while I was away. The bottom line is that he was starving for some TLC and a varied diet, which i have tried to supply him with since I returned.

 

This morning I decided to pamper him (and myself) with some beautiful buttermilk pancakes. I love pancakes for breakfast, and I like to give Andy a little piece of home (since he is American) sometimes. There are tons of recipes for pancakes out there, but I think this one is great because of how easy the batter is to make. There is no whisking of egg whites or anything like that.

For 10 small pancakes (breakfast for two) you need:

Adapted from The Joy of Cooking.

3/4 (2 dl) cups flour

2 tablespoons sugar

A pinch of salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

3/4 (2 dl) cups buttermilk (can be substituted for normal milk)

2 tablespoons melted butter

1 egg

Half a vanilla bean (seeds scraped out) or 1 teaspoon of vanilla essence

Juice of half a lemon (optional, but I love the lemon flavor in the pancakes)

You could add tons of other things to the pancake batter as well: blueberries, banana, coconut, apples. Take a look in your fruit bowl and use your imagination. They are wonderful plain though!

 

Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl. Then add the rest of the ingredients and whisk just until combined. Fry over medium heat in butter. I make three at a time on my pan. Serve warm with cold butter and maple syrup and enjoy the slow morning with some coffee and good company.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. geetash2 permalink
    February 6, 2011 11:44 am

    hey thanx for the reciepy it turned out great . hope to find some more gud once from u soon

  2. February 6, 2011 12:28 pm

    Hej.
    Velkommen tilbage.
    Lige et lille spørgsmål. Hvorfor på engelsk?

    • February 6, 2011 2:10 pm

      Hej Charlotte. Jeg har valgt at skrive på engelsk, da det falder mig (næsten ligeså) let at skrive på engelsk som på dansk, og derfor synes jeg at det var oplagt at gøre det på bloggen. Bare tanken om at folk fra hele verden ville kunne læse med hvis de havde lyst synes jeg er helt vildt sjovt! Hav en dejlig søndag! Kh Kristina

  3. February 6, 2011 1:12 pm

    Speachlesss. !really..looks very good.!

  4. Linda permalink
    February 6, 2011 4:15 pm

    Uhm skat hvor ser det dejligt ud. Godt du hygger lidt om Andy igen. Håber snart at se Jer herovre begge to.
    Kærlig hilsen MOR

  5. Julie permalink
    February 6, 2011 5:12 pm

    I think Andy is a very lucky guy😉

Leave a Reply

