Skip to content

Green bean salad with walnuts and goats cheese

December 11, 2010

First of all, I am sorry that it has been so long since my last post. December has been busy so far, with school, work and many other chores. The other day I finally found some time to cook, and I baked some of my favorite christmas cookies and I was planning to post the pictures and recipe today. But then today I couldn’t find the cord that connects my camera to my computer, and that is why there are no christmas treats for you today.

 

Desperate to post something after this long pause, I went through my old photos and found this salad that I made this fall. It is extremely delicious, and I think that even green-bean-haters would love this one (if they like goats cheese at least). The mustard dressing with shallots is tangy, the cheese is creamy and soft and the walnuts are crunchy. It is a winner, and I am glad I found the pictures so I could share it here.

 

And this is how:

First you have to find some nice green beans. Steam or boil them for about 5 minutes until they are tender and just the way you like them. While they are cooking, make the dressing by mixing (for a portion of about 500 g/1 lb green beans) 3 tablespoons dijon mustard, 8 tablespoons olive oil, about 2 tablespoons white wine vinegar (or rice wine vinegar), salt, pepper, 1 finely chopped shallot and 1 finely chopped clove of garlic.

 

Mix the dressing up, taste it, and pour it over your beans while they are still hot.  Put a frying pan on medium heat and toast as many walnuts as you like until they start to brown. Then chop them roughly and sprinkle over the beans. Tear up a nice piece of soft and delicious goats cheese, and add that to the salad as well.

 

And then it is ready to be eaten. It is really good as part of a buffet, or as a nice vegetarian starter served with some good bread. Enjoy!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2010 6:40 pm

    Hvor ser det godt ud, Kristina! Sådan en portion kunne jeg godt lige spise🙂

    Mange hilsner
    Birthe

    • December 12, 2010 10:30 pm

      Tak Birthe. Jeg kunne faktisk også godt selv spise en portion snart midt i denne fede juletid. Jeg synes bare at det er lidt svært at finde fine grønne bønner i øjeblikket. Jeg håber du har haft en god weekend! Kristina

  2. Sarah Rich permalink
    August 11, 2011 5:10 pm

    YUM! Found your website looking for Malva pudding. Our church here in the States had a missionary from S. Africa visit and we made that for everyone who came. It was scrumptious! but then i saw this recipe and had to, since i had green beans and always need an excuse to buy goat cheese🙂 didn’t have the exact ingredients so had to improvise a little, but it was delicious! unfortunately my children didn’t agree but that’s okay. now the leftovers are all mine! thanx for sharing!

    • August 28, 2011 2:07 pm

      Hi Sarah. yes, Malva pudding is so scrumptious. I think I have to make it again soon! All the best, Kristina

Leave a Reply

