Skip to content

Pizza

October 28, 2010

One of my favorite things to eat in this world is pizza. I am always in the mood for pizza. Always! We have several great Italian pizza joints in our neigbourhood that supply us with easy and cheap dinners quite often, but the perfect dinner at home is of the home made varity. It is comforting, beautiful and it makes the whole house smell amazing.

 

 

Either you can throw together your own dough, or you can go to your local pizza place, throw them your cutest smile, and ask them if you can please, please buy some unbaked pizza dough from them. Then sometimes they give it to me for free, and sometimes they charge out the nose for it. I often use the latter option though, simply because I don’t really like kneading dough. I just hate the feeling of dried dough on my hands. Just call me crazy! Also the stuff from the pizza places can be rolled thinner than my home made stuff. And then you can make your own pizza, even if you are short on time. It is a win-win situation I must say.

 

Last night I made my own dough though. This made a pretty big portion (enough for dinner for two hungry wolves, and lunch too, about 2 pizzas):

 

Crumble 20 g. yeast into 5 dl. lukewarm water. Throw some salt, sugar and 2/3 dl oil in and mix well. Then add half durum flour (I used whole wheat, because that was what I had) and half plain flour until it holds together and is smooth when you knead it. Let it rest for as long as you have. Yesterday I let it rest  for about 3 hours, but if you have the time, use less yeast and let it rest for as long as you have. Use your fingers (or a rolling pin) to “roll” it, and then it is ready for toppings.

 

 

Then you get all your favorite pizza toppings, and lots of fresh mozzerella out of the fridge. Start on the pizza sauce while the dough is resting. I make my mine by sautéeing onions and garlic in olive oil. Then I add dried oregano and thyme, and dump in some canned tomatoes. Then I let it simmer away for as long as I have to spare, add salt, pepper and sugar and then in the end I blend it with my immersion blender until smooth.

 

Smear this on your pizza dough. Rip up some fresh mozzerella and spread it all over the dough. Then put on some fresh tomatoes, salami, ham, spinach, gorgonzola, anchovies, olives, artichokes or whatever else suits your fancy. The sky is the limit! I love the simple version with just tomatoes (and fresh basil after it is out of the oven). Dump some good pesto on it if you have some, or don’t. It is all about doing it your way! A really good one though is gorgonzola, spicy salami and fresh spinach. I love that!

 

The must important thing though, is the GARLIC OIL. Garlic oil makes everything better! And make it in advance if you have the time since it just gets better and better. My dad always has some garlic oil in his fridge, and it is extremely potent (and good)! Grate 4 big cloves of garlic, and mix it with 2/3 dl. olive oil. Drizzle this wonderous oil over the pizzas before they go in the oven, and the pizza can’t be anything but great! Bake the pizza in a piping hot (300C/575F) for about 5-8 minutes. All ovens are different though, so keep an eye on it!

 

And enjoy your pizza!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2010 6:34 pm

    Mmm, looks really yummy! Love love pizza too🙂

  2. October 28, 2010 6:35 pm

    Hej Kristina

    Smukke billeder – og pizza, det er bare noget af det bedste og især helt simpelt med tomat og ost🙂

    Og tak for sidst – rigtigt hyggeligt lige at hilse på dig til Madbloggersymposium.

    Kh Hanne

    • October 28, 2010 7:40 pm

      Hej Hanne. Selv tak for sidst; desværre var det lidt for kort. Og ja, simple pizza er bare det skønneste! Det er virkelig også noget næsten alle kan lide. Kh. Kristina

  3. October 28, 2010 7:14 pm

    Uh, hvor ser det godt ud!! Hvis ikke det giver en lyst til pizza, så ved jeg ikke hvad der skal til🙂

    Mange hilsner
    Birthe

    • October 28, 2010 7:42 pm

      Tak Birthe. Jeg kunne spise pizza hver dag…. Tror jeg skal prøve din æbletærte i weekenden; den ligger øverst i min bunke af opskrifter der skal prøves. Kh fra Kristina

  4. October 29, 2010 9:45 am

    Håber at du vil kunne lide den, men det er jeg nu ret sikker på at du kan😉

    Mange hilsner
    Birthe

    • October 29, 2010 11:58 am

      Ja, det må være de færreste som ikke kan lide æble, karamel og mazarin sammen! Kh Kristina

Trackbacks

  1. Simply amazing tomato sauce « Fifth Floor Cooking

Leave a Reply

