Skip to content

Leg of goat with rosemary and garlic

October 16, 2010

Do you ever eat goat? No? Goat is super delicious, and pretty healthy too, I hear. It’s taste resembles lamb, but it is more understated and less fatty. What I am saying here is if you come across a beautiul piece of goat, you better buy it! My Dad has been cooking with goat for years, using many different parts of the animal. Last time he had gotten hold of a really nice leg, and we decided to cook it on the grill.

 

Whatever part of the goat you have on your hands, this way of preparing it won’t let you down. First get your grill ready by lighting the coles on fire and all that. Then grab your goat and a knife, and cut slices through the fat until you reach the meat. Crush ten cloves of garlic and cut them in halves. Rip some rosemary off your bush (dried is also fine). Rub the goat in plenty of salt and make the garlic cloves and rosemary fit in the fat-slices. Pepper it lightly.

Place the meat on the grill when the coles are ready. Put on the top, and let it stay there for 45 minutes to 1 hour, depending on the size of your goat’s leg. Let it rest under silver foil for 20 minutes. And then you are ready to eat!

 

This fall evening, we had it with a warm apple/celery root/thyme salad, potatoes and a (home-picked) porcini mushroom sauce. It would also be wonderful with all the standard Greek trimmings: ovenbaked lemon-potatoes, tzatziki and a Greek salad (and mint jelly for me). Enjoy!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2010 3:09 pm

    Jeg har endnu aldrig smagt gedekød, men det må jeg da få lavet om på, det lyder – og ser – super lækkert ud!🙂

    Ser vi dig til det madbloggertræf jeg har været med til at arrangere?

    God weekend.

    Mange hilsner
    Birthe

    • October 16, 2010 3:25 pm

      Hej Birthe. Ja, gedekød er virkelig et hit, i hvert fald hvis man kan lide lam. Jeg har godt læst om madbloggertræffet; det lyder virkelig fedt! Desværre kan jeg ikke helt overskue mit forår endnu, men jeg vender tilbage når jeg får resten af mit liv (i foråret) på plads. Hav du også en god weekend! Kristina

  2. October 16, 2010 7:42 pm

    Uhm, hvor ser det godt ud! Jeg kan faktisk ikke huske, om jeg har smagt gedekød, men dejligt ser det ud. Minder det smagsmæssigt om lam?

    • October 16, 2010 7:58 pm

      Hej Piskeris. Ja det minder om lam, men er mindre ‘uldet’ i smagen. Derudover er det en del mindre fedt, uden at miste saftig- og mørheden. Jeg ved at Irma har lammekød i køledisken til himmelhøje priser, men på landet kan man vist finde det til en rimelig pris. Prøv det hvis du får muligheden! Kh Kristina

  3. Charlotte den 2. permalink
    October 17, 2010 9:59 am

    Hvor har du ret. Ged er en gudespise. Vi får en hel ged 2-3 gange om året, Det er bare mums. Dog har vi aldrig grillet det før – skulle måske overveje en gang ged på grillen. Skøn blog du har;-)
    Charlotte den 2.

    • October 17, 2010 1:28 pm

      Hej Charlotte. Dejlig at høre at du får spist noget ged! Prøv det endelig på grillen; det er virkelig guf. Og tak for rosen! Kh Kristina

  4. October 17, 2010 10:14 am

    Jeg mindes med glæde et stykke grillet gedekid jeg fik i Spanien for nogle år siden – super mørt og dejligt smagfuldt – men hvor får man fat i ged i danmark?

Trackbacks

  1. Leg of goat with rosemary and garlic | Madbevægelsen -- danske madblogs

Leave a Reply

