Skip to content

Guacamole

October 10, 2010

I love guacamole; I love it to death! It is the best before-dinner-snack served with some good tortilla chips. But most importantly, mexican food can’t live without it. Enchilladas, chimichangas, nachos, you name it. It all just gets better with a little help from the guacamole-friend.

 

People make guacamole in so many different ways: some with dairy, some with tomatoes, and some with cilantro. It is all about personal taste, but here’s how I make mine.

 

 

For a big portion you need:

3 avocados

1/2 medium red onion

2 small/1 big clove(s) of garlic

Juice of 1-2 limes (it depends on their juicyness)

Salt

Pepper

 

Optional are: chopped tomatoes, cilantro and fresh jalapenos. But I wouldn’t let any dairy near my guacamole!

 

 

How to:

It is so easy! Open up your avocados (without cutting your fingers off. I am just saying from personal experience!) and get all the meat into a big bowl. Chop the red onion very finely, and grate the clove(s) of garlic. Dump it in with the avocados. Squeeze one lime into the bowl, and add some salt and pepper. The salt is really important if you want a flavorful guac!

 

Grab your potato masher (alternatively you can use a fork or a whisk) and mash it all up until it has the texture you like. I like it to be pretty chunky. Grab a tortilla chip (or a spoon) and taste it. Does it need something? Salt? Or maybe more lime? It really gets better from the tasting process, and it is a delicious activity as well. If it needs more of anything, don’t mash it up more, but gently stir it around with a spoon. The texture of guacamole is half the pleasure, I think. Transfer it into a pretty little bowl, and eat like there is no tomorrow!

 


2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kristina Shula permalink
    December 29, 2010 1:54 am

    Hello Kristina, I am visiting Drew in Los Angeles and trying out my new IPad. I am really enjoying your food blog!!!! I have always wanted to prepare goat and have never had the opportuniy. Honestly, I don’t even know where to buy goat except at the Arab market in Boston. I will have to go on an ingredient search in Portland. Someday I hope to visit and have a wonderful goat dinner prepped by you and your father. Anxious to try some of your Danish Christmas cookie recipes—get to WORK!! Kris

    • January 16, 2011 9:09 am

      Hi Kris. Thank you for the comment! If you ever happen to be in Scandinavia, my Dad and I would be happy to make you a full blown dinner with goat and all. Hope your christmas was wonderful. I am sure it was wonderful spending time with little Acadia and her proud parents. Hope to see you soon! Kristina

Leave a Reply

