Skip to content

Nachos loaded with delicious stuff

August 18, 2010

As you may know, I just got back from a visit with my in-laws in the US. Whenever we are in the states, it is a must for us to make a huge batch of delicious nachos. American supermarkets are much better for it than the Danish ones as they stock awesome tortilla chips, good hot sauce and fresh jalapenos. Nachos are tricky though; as much as I LOVE them, I usually hate the ones you can order in the cafés here in Copenhagen. Nachos need to be loaded with good stuff and quality cheese. All the things you love most can go on them, and they really knock my socks off served with homemade guacamole, salsa, sour cream and hot sauce.

I am getting hungry for them now, even though I just had dinner. That’s trouble!

I guess this isn’t a real recipe, because you should make the nachos just the way you want them, but I will now tell you more about how I like them, and then you can just add or leave anything you like.

Grab your favorite tortilla chips and spread some out in a baking pan. I then added grated sharp cheddar, chopped up orange bell peppers, fresh jalapenos and red onions. You could stop it right there, but I showed no restraint (and was cooking for a lot of people) so I kept going.

On top of the layer I just showed you, I added my other favorite tortilla chips made with blue corn. I LOVE them, and it sucks that Denmark’s eyes aren’t open to blue corn tortilla chips. I added tons of black beans, cherry tomatoes and more cheese. And please don’t skimp on the cheese. I salted and peppered it, and threw the batch in a 200C/350F hot oven until they looked beautiful. Like this:

Oh man, this was an awesome lunch. Serve with guacamole, salsa, sour cream and drizzle it with hot sauce. YUM. Sometimes I wish I lived in the states…..

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2010 4:10 pm

    your nachos look proper! and you’re right, a lot of the ‘nachos’ i see in cafes around copenhagen are either a) chips and salsa or b) something that looks so awful i immediately shut it out of my mind. love your addition of black beans, great job! (:

    • September 2, 2010 2:44 pm

      Thank you Mina for your nice comment. I am glad that you agree with my critique of the Copenhagen cafés. Many people seem to actually like the crap they serve them. And do try nachos with black beans, it is so delicious, and it fills you up, so it can be made into a dinner!

Trackbacks

  1. Pulled pork « Fifth Floor Cooking

Leave a Reply

