Skip to content

Gambas al ajillo aka garlic prawns

June 5, 2010

One of my favorite weekend dinners is a tapas spread, with different small dishes to constitute the meal. That, and of course wine. Wine is also very important to have with tapas: it could be red, white, sparkling or rosé. I usually decide on the wine according to the weather. Last night it was red weather in my book, but maybe I am just crazy. 

These gambas, or prawns as you might like to call them, are a perfect part of a tapas dinner. They are the most delicious little things, but for me they come with a very guilty conscience; the fisheries of both wild caught and farmed prawns from the tropics, are very, VERY damaging to our seas and I should stay far, far away from them. And I have for a long time, but then the other day in the supermarket, there was a delay in my brain or something, and all of a sudden I found myself on the way home on my bike, with prawns in my basket. I felt like a horrible person, but then I had to cook them (I couldn’t let them go to waste), and I fell in love all over again. For me though, this will be a one time love, and I promise to only have prawns when other people serve them to me. This dish can be made without ruining the seas though, with smaller cold water shrimp that are wild caught around Greenland.  

 

Here’s what you need (for a pretty big portion):

5 dl (2 cups) shrimp or prawns, with no shell, but the tail still on

6 cloves of garlic

4 small dried chilies

1 dl (1/2 cup) olive oil 

Some parsley

Good bread

Salt

Pepper 

How to put it together:

Chop the garlic coarsely along with the chilies and parsley. Heat up the oil in a frying pan; when it is hot and sizzling, add the garlic and chili and let it cook for a minute or so. Then add the shrimp to the pan, and let it fry on high heat until they are opaque and have the texture of cooked shrimp. Add the parsley at the last minute, and put in a beautiful serving dish. Serve it as part of a tapas spread like the one in the below picture, with plenty of good bread to sop up the delicious garlic/chili oil.

  

2 Comments leave one →
  1. laxman s. bhati permalink
    December 22, 2010 7:19 am

    hiiiiiiii kristina,
    i like prawns & it’s a very simple & beautiful recipes but give me some sagestion , if we put some white wine in sea food it’s in craze the taste of food or not buz some chef use white wine in sea food plz reply
    regards
    laxman

    • January 16, 2011 9:07 am

      Your are right Laxman; white wine is great with seafood. For this dish I prefer it without it though. But I would be very happy to have some white wine to drink with it though.

Leave a Reply

