Skip to content

Very speedy birthday cake loaded with strawberries

June 1, 2010

Today is my 25th birthday, and that is why I invited my family over for birthday cake and buns yesterday. I made the invitation quite a while ago without considering whether I had time to prepare for the visit or not. The last week I have been up to my ears with writing an exam about a fieldwork I did in Sri Lanka in March, and I haven’t had a second to cook. I handed in the paper yesterday at noon, and then at three my doorbell rang, and 10 people were expecting a feast. And then what do you do? The night between Sunday and Monday didn’t offer much more than 3 hours sleep for me, but I pulled through the sleepiness and had a great time, because of one very important thing: LÆRKE’S CAKE!

Lærke’s cake is really the easiest and fastest cake to make, and the best thing is that my kitchen almost always has the ingredients it needs. Yesterday I spiked the original recipe a little though by adding chopped up toblerone, a big handful of hazelnuts and topping it with whipped cream with vanilla and tons of strawberries. The cake kind of has the consistency of a brownie, but I think it also has a cake’ish quality to it that I really like.

  

Here’s what you need for the simple version:

2 eggs

3 dl (1 1/3 cups) sugar

2 dl (0,8 cups) flour

4 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tablespoon vanilla

100 g (little less than a stick) butter

 

Whish the eggs with the sugar until it is light and foamy. Add the flour, cocoa powder and vanilla and stir it until it is all combined. Melt the butter and add it to the mixture and stir until smooth. Bake it for about half an hour in a 175C/350F hot oven. 

 

I served the cake with burning candles stuck around the edges, just to make it a little more birthday’ish. I hope to show you the birthday cake I usually make soon, but I guess it has to wait for next time someone has a birthday.

 

Today i am celebrating with a hopefully great dinner at an Italian restaurant called FAMO 51, and also by booking a table at NOMA for September. By chance they opened up reservations for September this morning and I managed to get a reservation for friday the 3rd. I can’t wait to eat at the world’s best restaurant; it has been haunting me for a long time because I live so close to it, and now it is finally happening. You will definitely hear more after the visit. Enjoy the day everyone!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Caroline permalink
    October 17, 2011 12:38 pm

    Thank you so much I have just made you lemon and orange cake for my Nan’s 86th birthday picnic tomorrow and was wondering what cake I could make with the two eggs I have left for my Husband whose birthday is also tomorrow. I am so thrilled to make Laerke’s cake. I am now off to my kitchen in Melbourne at 10.30pm to start. Thanks again, delighted I have found your blog. All the best Caroline

    • October 29, 2011 11:50 am

      Hi Caroline
      Thank you so much for the nice comment! I am very happy that you liked the lemon and orange cake. It reminds me that I have to make it again soon. Lærkes cake is really perfect for whipping up very fast as I usually have all the ingredients in the house, and the result is always delicious. I hope it came out the way you wanted it.
      All the best, Kristina

Leave a Reply

