Skip to content

Warm pasta salad with tomatoes and herbs

May 21, 2010

For me, this is the perfect pasta salad. It is packed full of flavor from the balsamic and herbs, and it is THE dish to bring to a spring time picnic. I had this so called spring time picnic in my very own kitchen yesterday, when the weather was warm and the sun was shining in our kitchen windows until almost  9PM. I was ecstatic that spring had finally come to Copenhagen, and I decided it was time to pull out my recipe for this pasta salad, that, to me, tastes like summer. I know it might be jumping the gun; tomatoes aren’t at all in season yet and the weather is supposed to turn lousy again over the weekend, but for this one evening I chose to pretend that summer had really come. And I didn’t regret it; it totally hit my spot, and I actually believed for at while that summer had come to stay.  

 

Here’s what you need for this wonderful dish (which is originally from a Jamie Oliver book):

12 small tomatoes

2 handfulls of fresh herbs (I used basil, flatleaf parsiley and rosemary)

75 grams (1/2 stick) butter

Salt

Pepper

3 big tablespoons of good balsamic vinegar

One bag (500 grams/1 lb) of good pasta (as you can see, I used fusili)

 

And here’s how you do it:

Fill up a big pot of water, and bring it to a boil. Chop op the tomatoes coarsly along with the herbs. Boil the pasta al dente. All the while, in a small pot, place the butter, herbs, balsamic, salt and pepper. Warm this on the stove, without bringing it to a boil. Once it is mixed, turn off the heat and add the tomatoes. Massage the wonderful dressing into the tomatoes, and taste it. Does it need more balsamic, salt or pepper? Mix the pasta with the warm tomatoey goodness, and serve immediatly. I often serve olives on the side, and it is important to have a big chunk of parmesan to grate over the pasta for extra deliciousness. Enjoy it; I know I did!

 

    

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sonja permalink
    May 21, 2010 10:57 pm

    Yummmmy!

Leave a Reply

