Skip to content

Malva pudding – an amazing South African dessert

April 1, 2011

I have had this craving for a caramelly cake for a long time now. I guess it started about a month ago, and finally today my craving was satisfied. And malva pudding was the answer to my prayers! If you have been reading my blog for a while, you will know that I spent my January in South Africa. One evening, my friend Amy (who is South African) and I went to a local restaurant outside Cape Town for braai night. A braai is a barbeque, and we indulged in steaks and creamed potatoes and had a wonderful evening. For dessert we had malva pudding, which I had never heard of before in my life. Amy convinced me to try it, and it was absolutely scrumptious, and something I have been dreaming about since.

I did some research online to find a recipe that sounded right, but ended up mixing several different ones. And it came out perfect! Rich, gooey and caramelly.

Here’s what you need (for 6 big servings)

For the cake

2 eggs

175 g./3/4 cup sugar

1 big tablespoon melted butter

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon vinegar

1/3 cup/0,8 dl milk

150 g./5 oz. flour

1 tablespoon apricot jam

1 teaspoon baking powder

For the topping

3/4 cup/2 dl cream

100 g./3,5 oz. butter

85 g./3 oz. brown sugar

A dash vanilla essence

1/3 cup/0,8 dl water

And this is how

Turn the oven to 175C/350F. In a bowl, beat the eggs and the sugar (with an electric mixer) until it is foamy. It will take about 5 minutes. Add the rest of the ingredients to the bowl, and mix well until thoroughly combined. Grease a baking pan (I think mine was about 30 x 15 cm). Add the batter to the greased pan and bake it for about 30 minutes, or until a pin comes out clean.

While the cake is baking, you can prepare the topping. Add the cream, butter, brown sugar, vanilla and water to a pot, and heat it up until the butter is melted and it is nice and warm. Try not to eat it all before the cake comes out of the oven.

When the cake comes out of the oven, you simply pour the topping over the hot cake little by little. The edges of my baking pan were not very high, so I did it in four rounds. Distribute it evenly since the edges usually get more of the liquid than the middle. If the cake has a hard time absorbing the caramelly liquid, poke some holes with a pin along the way.

Leave the cake sitting for about 30 minutes (if you have the patience). Then eat it with some good ice cream and swoon. I have only had my first serving today, but I would expect it to be nice heated in the microwave tomorrow. Have a great weekend everyone, and I hope you will give this ass kicking cake a try.

Note: On the third day, this cake is still amazing. I haven’t even bothered with the microwave or ice cream. It is still very moist and is disappearing rapidly!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2011 2:29 pm

    I’m giving it a try. Sponge cake and toffee, sounds like a winner.

    • April 3, 2011 2:50 pm

      Hi David. I promise you; it is a winner! I wish I still had some left! Good luck, and let me know how it goes. Have a nice sunday, Kristina

      • April 3, 2011 5:29 pm

        My oh my. You’re absolutely right. It came out a dream. My gf and I Ate 1/3 straight from the tray. Seriously dangerous stuff. Love it. Great blog. I’ll be coming back.

      • April 3, 2011 6:58 pm

        Very happy to hear that it was a success!

  2. lisi permalink
    November 10, 2011 8:36 pm

    hello! i just made this lovely dessert but mine didnt come out very thick and it was very dry before the sauce, is that how its meant to be? but i followed instructions, any ideas?

    • November 11, 2011 9:20 am

      Hi Lisi
      Thank you for the comment! First of all, the cake is not supposd to be eaten without the caramel topping, as it is the topping tht makes it malva pudding. It is hardly a surprise that the cake itself is dry considering the amount of butter used for it. I am wondering if maybe you baked the cake in too big of a pan? Mine was quite small, and if you have used a bigger one, it would turn out flatter and the baking time would have to be cut down for it to not overcook and get dry.
      I am sorry it didn’t come out as you would have liked, but I hope you will try it again sometime.
      Best, Kristina

  3. Caroline permalink
    August 19, 2012 2:48 am

    Just made this and it’s WONDERFUL! Next time I am going to double the recipe!

    • August 20, 2012 8:32 pm

      Hi Caroline. Thank you for the comment! And YES, isn’t it an amazing cake? I was just contemplating making it tomorrow, despite the summer’s heat. My husband asks me to make it all the time. Have a good late summer, Kristina

  4. Theresa Thoma permalink
    October 11, 2012 9:45 pm

    I just made this for my daughters 9th grade world cultures class. Hopefully all those teen’s like it, I thought it tasted great!

Trackbacks

  1. Malva pudding – an amazing South African dessert | Madbevægelsen -- danske madblogs

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

