Skip to content

Simply amazing tomato sauce

March 28, 2011

 

Finally, I introduce to you all, the best and simplest tomato sauce in the world! After our trip to Italy in November, I found myself trying out different recipes for tomato sauces to find the perfect one. On the best pizza in the world, the tomato sauce just tasted like pure summer and ripe tomatoes, without the help of herbs or spices and I wanted to be able to make that in my own kitchen.

After a while, I remembered seeing a simple recipe for tomato sauce on various food blogs, and I decided to try it out. And dear lord, am I glad I did! It is extremely simple, and the flavour of the tomatoes is just perfect, rich and tangy. I am sure a lot of you out there have seen this recipe featured before (like here, here and here), but if you haven’t, please try it now!

You need:

2 cans of whole, peeled tomatoes

70 grams/5 tablespoons of butter

1 onion, peeled and cut in half

Salt to taste

How to:

Dump the tomatoes, the halved onion and the lump of butter into a pan. Bring it to a simmer, and leave it simmering on low heat for 45 minutes (I sometimes leave it longer, though). After the simmering is done, take out the onion. If the tomatoes are too chunky, mash them up with a potato masher. Season with salt, and there you have it: the simplest and best tomato sauce I have encountered. I have sometimes tried adding other things to the simple base. Garlic, black pepper, herbs, chilli. It all worked fine, but the simple version is my favourite. Eat it over some good pasta (my favorite is De Cecco) for a simple dinner, and if you like, grate some parmesan over it. I have also started using this sauce for my home made pizza, canneloni and vegetarian lasagna. It is awesome!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2011 7:23 pm

    I love the simplicity of this recipe. Tomatoes! <3

  2. April 22, 2011 2:44 pm

    I recently discovered this wonderful tomato sauce recipe from another blog and absolutely love it. You take very good photos, by the way.

    • April 22, 2011 4:51 pm

      Thank you very much! And yep, it really is an amazing tomato sauce.

Trackbacks

  1. Simply amazing tomato sauce | Madbevægelsen -- danske madblogs

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

