Skip to content

Moist orange and lemon cake

March 12, 2011

Happy weekend everyone! I started my weekend yesterday in the best possible way. I took the train to Roskilde to visit my sweet grandmother, and spent the night there. We had such a good time, baking, cooking, drinking wine and talking. And talking we did a lot of! I just love hearing her stories about what life was like fifty years ago, about meeting my grandfather and lots of other things. For their honeymoon they took his motorcycle and drove down through Europe and to keep warm they stuffed old newspapers under their shirts. How cool is that!

But while all these stories were being told, we managed to bake a cake. And what a cake! It was extremely moist and the citrus flavor was really, really nice. We found the recipe in one of my grandmother’s bindings as a clip out of a magazine. It doesn’t say which magazine or when it is from through, so I can’t really reference it.

Here’s what you need to make it:

250 g./8,8 oz. soft butter

275 g.79,7 oz. sugar

5 big eggs (I used six because my eggs were very small)

1/4 teaspoon salt

Grated peel of 2 organic oranges

235 g./8,2 oz. flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

Juice of 1 1/2 oranges

Juice of 1 1/2 lemons

175 g./6 oz. powdered sugar

How:

Turn the oven to 175C/350F. Separate the egg whites from the egg yolks. Then with an electric mixer, whisk the butter and sugar until “foamy” and thoroughly combined. Then add the egg yolks one at a time while beating. My grandmother has a kitchen aid mixer, and I am completely in love with it! If only I had the room for it and the money to buy it!

Then add the salt, orange peel, flour and baking powder little by little until it is nicely combined. Then, in another bowl, whisk the egg whites until they are stiff and form peaks. Fold the whites gently into the batter until it is beautiful and uniform.


Butter a springform, and add the batter to it. Bake it for 50-60 minutes, or until a pin comes out clean when you poke it. While the cake is in the oven, juice the oranges and lemons. Add the powdered sugar to the juice and warm it up until the powdered sugar is dissolved.


And then the fun part. When the cake is done, you poke the hell out of it with a knitting pin (or another kind of pin). Every centimeter should pretty much be poked. Like this:
And then you gently pour the juice over the cake. Make sure to distribute it pretty evenly.


And then it is all about letting the cake absorb all the goodness of the fruit juice, and become very moist and yummy. We let it cool for about an hour. That’s as long as we could wait.


It is so hard having a cake just sitting there, waiting for you! We had it with out afternoon coffee, and it was perfect! You can decorate it with some powdered sugar, or just eat it the way it is. Enjoy!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 4:53 am

    Mmm, this really does look like the citrus-iest cake I’ve ever seen. Sounds delicious. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your cake up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/03/sweets-for-saturday-8.html

    • March 14, 2011 8:48 am

      Thank you for the comment Lisa. I have linked my cake up on your site now. Have a great week!

  2. March 17, 2011 10:48 am

    Thanks for linking up to Sweets for a Saturday. Feel free to join in again anytime.

  3. March 30, 2011 9:47 pm

    Umm ser virkelig lækker ud den kage….
    Jeg fandt din blog bagpå en opskrift jeg for lang tid siden havde revet ud af et blad. Tænkte jeg lige ville kigge forbi :-)
    Jeg har på min blog en lille beretning om Kitchenaid køkkenmaskinen. Kan se du har en… Er du glad for den? Jeg vil nemlig gerne eje en køkkenmaskine, men kan ikke finde ud af hvilken jeg skal vælge…
    Kig endelig forbi min blog og join mig…

    • March 31, 2011 10:54 am

      Hej Sarah. Åhh, kagen er virkelig også lækker! Jeg får helt lyst til at bage den igen med det samme. Hvis du læser teksten kan du se at jeg faktisk ikke har en Kitchenaid. Jeg var på besøg hos min farmor da jeg bagte kagen nemlig. Jeg elsker at bruge den når jeg besøger hende, og ville ønske at jeg havde råd og plads til én i mit eget køkken. Hav en dejlig regnvejrsdag!

  4. Gqibelo permalink
    April 23, 2011 8:18 pm

    I happened upon this recipe while looking for another. I made this cake as a dessert for Easter lunch and my family LOVED it, more than any other orange cake I’d made previously! Thank you for this!!!! I added a 1/2 cup orange juice to the batter and it still turned out perfectly!!! Many thanks all the way from South Africa!!!

    • April 24, 2011 7:58 am

      Hi Gqibelo. I am so happy to hear that it came out nicely! Nice to know that it can take more juice too. Happy easter to you and your family. Kristina

  5. chrissie permalink
    October 16, 2012 12:59 pm

    Thank you! I have been looking for a citrus cake recipe for a looooong time, because it had to be THE ONE… and here it is. Your recipe is taking me back a couple of years..my mom use to bake this for me, because I preferred a white cake to a chocolate one.Got all the ingredients on the table and the oven is on!!! Chrissie from sunny South Africa

    • November 27, 2012 9:39 am

      Hi Chrissie. Thank you so much for the nice comment! I hope the cake came out perfect. Best, Kristina

  6. Lucy permalink
    January 16, 2013 6:43 am

    This is the best cake I’ve ever tasted! I was wondering, if I was able to make them into muffins, do you think the liners would be soaked by the syrup when I pour it onto the muffins?

    • January 16, 2013 7:59 pm

      Hi Lucy. Thank you so much for the wonderful comment! I am so happy you liked the cake and you have reminded me that I should really be making it for myself soon. As for the muffins, I am really not sure. I am an idiot with muffins and cupcakes! I do think it should be doable though. The liners will probably be somewhat wet, but if you can live with that, I think it will be fine. I would let the muffins rest for at least a couple hours after you pour over the juice, to allow them to set. I think it would make it easier to remove the liners without breaking the muffins and liners. Good luck and let me know how it goes. Best, Kristina

      • Lucy permalink
        January 19, 2013 2:07 am

        I made the muffins yesterday, and it was a success. It took 15-18mins to bake, depending on how much I filled the pan. The syrup doen’t really reach the bottom of the muffin, as it only soaks the top half of it. I halved the recipe, giving me 12 muffins. I’m not going to make them into muffins next time as it is easier soaking a cake rather than 12 individual muffins.

  7. January 27, 2013 9:16 pm

    Hi From Sydney, Australia.
    Kristina, What a delicious, moist (better the next day) citrus cake. I’ve made this a few times now. It’s addictive, everyone, kids included, adore it and it even tastes good in 40 degrees celsius heat. Well done. I’m about to make it again today as a dessert to sample after a whole asian Snapper fish with a quinoa, pomegranate salad. Mouth watering now even though its 6am here.

    • March 19, 2013 8:32 am

      Hi Kate
      Thanks for your comment! I am so happy to hear that the cake brings pleasure on the other side of the planet too.
      All the best, Kristina

  8. Elsebeth permalink
    September 7, 2013 3:39 pm

    Det er da en rigtig citron-appelsinsandkage. Da jeg var barn og hjalp min mor med at bage sandkage, skulle æggene også deles, og hviderne piskes – så det gør jeg også, da det giver en meget bedre kage. Jeg ved ikke, hvorfor man er gået bort fra den metode i opskrifter i dag. Det er min datters yndlingskage, så jeg vil skynde mig at maile opskriften til hende i USA med en hilsen fra dig :-) – og selv gå i gang med at bage den!

Trackbacks

  1. Moist orange and lemon cake | Madbevægelsen -- danske madblogs

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

